View Full Version : Second Hand Bike Concerns
Aussie
04-03-2008, 09:59 PM
Hi
Posted this on mtbireland also .....
A work colleague wanted a bit of advice RE buying a second hand MTB - I sent him links to the various online buy and sell threads (mtbireland, epic, mad, cycle superstore etc). He came back today with the following links on gumtree.ie:
http://www.gumtree.ie/cgi-bin/list_postings.pl?search_terms=mountain+bike&posting_cat=2236
Um .... any comments / advice?
All posted by one seller. As my mate is an MTB novice, he was wondering if 450 Euro for a 2007 Santa Cruz Nomad was worth the money!?!?!
Scrivo
04-03-2008, 10:05 PM
Don't go near it... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055248401
Cormac
04-03-2008, 10:05 PM
The asking prices are waaaay too low.
Thay all look stolen to be honest.
Morgan
04-03-2008, 10:20 PM
€450 for a €4000 bike sounds almost too good to be true.
The bikes aren't stolen, but the photos are - and that's all he's got.
Aussie
04-03-2008, 10:35 PM
Yeh - crazy, I was wondering (very briefly) about all those American looking backgrounds in the photos!?!
My mate was a bit sceptical when I told him the forks alone could almost fetch the money the seller was asking ... but I suspect quite a few people new to the scene would get sucked in by this type of scam.
I still have to help him find a second hand bike for under 700 Euro - and he's going to be forever comparing any potential steeds to that sweet Nomad ....
Oisin
05-03-2008, 03:28 PM
I once emailed one of these dodgy sellers - apparently the bike (carbon S-Works for €700) was abroad and I could only have a look at it if I first paid the €700 into an off shore bank account, then he would send the bike to me for inspection - yeah right!.
Barrydanzig
05-03-2008, 04:30 PM
haha thats gas! do they actually think people will deposit money into an off shore bank account?!?!
PeterPolish
06-03-2008, 03:03 PM
Hey,
Maybe he would like to get a new one that would be quite good in my opinion for a beginner. You have the representatives/disti of Kellys bicycles in Limerick...
http://www.kellys-bicycles.com/index.php?module=catalog&cPath=1_213_216&pID=15374
As far as I remember the one costs about the money you mentioned in Poland, might be slightly more expensive in Ireland though...
CYCLING PURSUITS LTD
* Unit F4 Riverside Park, Dock Road
0000 Limerick
phone: +353 061 307178
fax: +353 061 307179
e-mail: info@cycling-pursuits.com
homepage: www.cycling-pursuits.com
PS: I think that sometimes there are jerks who believe in everything... but anyway - shouldn't it be reported as a scam to the website owners?
NigelS
06-03-2008, 03:42 PM
I reported most of the ads to the gumtree admin
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.